CAF Make Dog’s Dinner Of Picking Their 2015 African Cup Of Nations ‘Team Of The Tournament’ Best XI

Chris Wright

12th, February 2015

By Chris Wright

With the Africa Cup of Nations coming to a dramatic close on Sunday evening and Ivory Coast snaffling their first title since 1992, all that was left for CAF to do was publish their list of individual award winners.

That is exactly what they’ve done, with the CAF “Team of the Tournament” revealed via the organisation’s website earlier this morning.

See if you can spot the mistake…

Goalkeeper: Sylvain Gbohouo (Côte d’Ivoire), Robert Kidiaba (RD Congo)

Defenders: Serge Aurier (Côte d’Ivoire), Harrison Afful (Ghana), Abib Kolo Toure (Côte d’Ivoire)

Midfielders: Andre Ayew (Ghana), Yaya Toure (Côte d’Ivoire), Max Gradel (Côte d’Ivoire), Yannick Bolasie (DR Congo), Gervinho (Côte d’Ivoire)

Forwards: Christian Atsu (Ghana), Wilfried Bony (Côte d’Ivoire)


Even if you’re willing to overlook the fact that CAF have selected two full-backs as part of their back three, or Gervinho as a wing-back, or Christian Atsu as a central striker, it should also be noted that their “Best XI” is made up of 12 players.

We think Jonathan Wilson summed it up nicely…

*golf applause*

Posted in FAIL, International football, Newsnow

Share this article: Email

Leave a Reply