cool hit counter

Who ate all the pies

Dip in to scour the latest Deadline Day titbits...

Who Ate All The Pies Logo

Football GIF: Daniel Agger Attempts Cheeky ‘Gary Crosby’ Schtick vs Anzhi MichaelaStrachan

By Chris Wright

So, Daniel Agger tried the old ‘Gary Crosby’ routine against Anzhi Mahavishnuorchestra last night…

We must admit that our primal schoolboy urges came to the fore when referee Bas Nijhuis blew to disallow the ‘goal’, with fervent cries of ‘ONE HAND REF, ONE HAND’ emanating from the settee but, of course, the UEFA-sanctioned referee was perfectly correct to do so – the law being amended in 1990 after Forest’s Crosby pick-pocketed Man City ‘keeper Andy Dibble to score the only goal of the game…

Thanks to Crosby, the keeper is now deemed to be in possession and therefore unable to be challenged “while the ball is between his hands or between his hand and any surface (e.g. ground, own body), while holding the ball in his outstretched hand and/or while in the act of bouncing it on the ground or crossing it in the air.”

Now you know, and…

(GIF: Feint Zebra)

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Buzz This
Vote on DZone
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Kick It on DotNetKicks.com
Shout it
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)
By Chris on October 26th, 2012 in Europa League, Funnies, GIFs, Liverpool. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.
comments

3 Responses to “Football GIF: Daniel Agger Attempts Cheeky ‘Gary Crosby’ Schtick vs Anzhi MichaelaStrachan”

  1. WHFM says:

    pretty sweet shot from Agger, though

  2. Patrick says:

    Sweet play all around from Agger. That new 1990 rule is total crap.

    Keepers should have to play like everyone else–heck, they get to use their hands even!

    I still think Henry’s steal from Friedel is the best though (and should have counted given the rule). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x73SRjWdrIA

  3. Nuno says:

    @Patrick
    I believe the “crossing it in the air” part means when the keeper is about to kick the ball, hence that goal is rightfully disallowed.

Leave a Reply