cool hit counter

Who ate all the pies

Dip in to scour the latest Deadline Day titbits...

Who Ate All The Pies Logo

Yaya Toure Wins African Player Of The Year Second Time In A Row

By Alan Duffy

In a decision that you can really argue with, Manchester City’s all-action powerhouse Yaya Touré has bagged the African Player of the Year award, thus holding on to the prize he won in 2011.

Touré has been an absolute giant in the centre of City’s midfield since joining from Barcelona and it’s probably fair to say that there is no better box to box midfielder in the world today.

Champions League winner and fellow Ivorian Didier Drogba came second while former Arsenal man Alex Song came third.

One wonders how much the upcoming African Cup of Nations will affect the race for the Premier League title.

Here’s a list of all the winners…

Year Player Nationality Club
2012 Yaya Touré  Côte d’Ivoire  Manchester City
2011 Yaya Touré  Côte d’Ivoire  Manchester City
2010 Samuel Eto’o  Cameroon  Inter Milan
2009 Didier Drogba  Côte d’Ivoire  Chelsea
2008 Emmanuel Adebayor  Togo  Arsenal
2007 Frédéric Kanouté  Mali  Sevilla
2006 Didier Drogba  Côte d’Ivoire  Chelsea
2005 Samuel Eto’o  Cameroon  Barcelona
2004 Samuel Eto’o  Cameroon  Barcelona /  Mallorca
2003 Samuel Eto’o  Cameroon  Mallorca
2002 El Hadji Diouf  Senegal  Liverpool /  Lens
2001 El Hadji Diouf  Senegal  Lens
2000 Patrick Mboma  Cameroon  Parma /  Cagliari
1999 Nwankwo Kanu  Nigeria  Arsenal
1998 Mustapha Hadji  Morocco  Deportivo La Coruña
1997 Victor Ikpeba  Nigeria  Monaco
1996 Nwankwo Kanu  Nigeria  Ajax /  Inter Milan
1995 George Weah  Liberia  Milan /  Paris Saint-Germain
1994 Emmanuel Amunike  Nigeria  Sporting CP /  El Zamalek
1993 Rashidi Yekini  Nigeria  Vitória de Setúbal


Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Buzz This
Vote on DZone
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Kick It on
Shout it
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)
By Alan Duffy on December 21st, 2012 in International football, Man City. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

5 Responses to “Yaya Toure Wins African Player Of The Year Second Time In A Row”

  1. :) says:

    What a joke that Eto’o has won that 4 times – certainly never the player Drogba was

  2. Dave says:

    Eto’o was a far more prolific goalscorer than Drogba, he also won a lot more.

  3. Taz says:

    Eto’o has won 3 champions league titles and was amazing for Mallorca, Barcelona and inter. Drogba only showed his ability when he arrived at Chelsea

  4. Anon says:

    Eto’o is certainly a better player than Drogba. Far more prolific and he’s won more league titles and more champion’s leagues than Drogba to boot.

  5. Johnson says:

    Eto’o is the best

Leave a Reply