Ole Gunnar Solskjaer = cheeky punt

Ollie Irish

22nd, April 2007


The ref was right to disallow this goal during MAn U’s 1-1 draw with Middlesbrough on Saturday. Technically Solskjaer was interfering with Schwarzer’s kick, although you have to admire the Norwegian’s cheek. George Best did a similar thing when he knocked the ball out of Gordon Banks’ hand playing for Northern Ireland against England. That ‘goal’, which you can watch after the click, was not given either…

Posted in Man Utd

Share this article: Email


  1. Anonymous says:

    speaking as a bolton fan delighted united dropped points the referee was not right to disallow it, the george best one was disallowed for high foot a ruling that has become dangerous play nowadays and i personally fail to see how solskjaers was dangerous as he flicked the ball backwards and came nower near to contact with schwazer

  2. Ollie, Pies Ed. says:

    The ref was 100% correct – the goal wasn’t disallowed for dangerous play, it was disallowed because Solskjaer was interfering with play. And technically he was.

  3. Ollie, Pies Ed. says:

    To clarify, from Ref365 on this subject:
    ‘Regardless of whether this was given or even permitted by the Laws in 1990, it certainly isn’t anymore. Lets say the keeper catches the ball from a corner. The ball is in both his hands. That ball is considered to be in his control now, and it is an offence to try to prevent its release or to prize the ball form him. The offence would be punishable with an indirect free-kick and on the discretion of the referee, by a caution for Unsporting Conduct.
    After this point, the ball is considered to be in the goalkeepers control whether he holds it in two hands or one hand, and this also includes bouncing the ball. When kicking the ball up field, the release of the ball and the kick is considered to be one action.’
    Hope that makes sense.

  4. baldista says:

    surprised schwazer fell for it again… henry just did summin lik tat around 3-4 seasons ago…

  5. Sheps says:

    Although this is allowed – by rolling it out in front of him, the keeper releases his control over the ball, putting it back into open play…