FIFA To Merge Their Two Most Prestigious Awards

Chris Wright

5th, July 2010


By Chris Wright

Just a quickie to keep y’all abreast of the latest goings-on in football land.

FIFA have announced this morning that, as of next year, they will be merging their Ballon d’Or award (i.e. the European Footballer of the Year award) with their World Player of the Year award to form a new, combined mega-award named…

…the Ballon d’or award.

I wonder how many board meetings that particular gem took.

Posted in Miscellaneous

Share this article: Email


  1. Zedie says:

    All the funds ringfenced for goal line technology was diverted to pay for the research in to the merging of these two prestigious awards.

  2. j says:

    It will actually be called The FIFA Ballon D’Or, or rather FIFA’s Golden Ball Award.

  3. Chris says:

    @j: Quite right.

    Like a fool I went and copy-and-pasted the wrong bleedin’ one!

  4. Matthew says:

    But isn’t the Ballon d’or run by France Football. Why are FIFA involved.

  5. j says:

    Ehe chris it’s quite alright. Matt, Since they each year nominate the same player, obviously, they decided to create a new, stronger faster AND smarter SUPER-AWARD.

  6. Deckard says:

    Don’t the Ballon winner usually go on to win the FIFA award. And if he didn’t, I guess he’d be pretty bummed to be Europe’s best player and but not the world’s. So if it were Ribery, he’d be better than Messi and Ronaldo because they play in Europe but not Shane Smeltz – the striker of New Zealand who plays for the Gold Coast Mariners in the Australian A-league.

Leave a Reply