Referee in Ecuador allows a goal with two balls on the pitch (and one is being held by the keeper!)

Ollie Irish

16th, October 2006

Jose Mourinho might be disgruntled with Mike Riley’s performance in the match against Reading on Saturday, but he would do well to remember that we are well blessed in the Premier League when it comes to referees.

A video of yet another bizarre decision from South America has been posted on YouTube. Despite the fact that the ball never goes out of play, the referee’s assistant awards a corner in this match from Ecuador. The referee then allows the corner to be taken and a goal to be scored with another ball despite the fact that the original ball is still on the pitch. Watch in disbelief! 

Ball boy scores goal – and the referee gives it!

[Rob Parker]

You have already read 10 premium articles for free today
Access immediately the premium content with Multipass

Or come back tomorrow

Posted in Miscellaneous

Share this article: Email

Comments are closed.