Robin Van Persie Wins PFA ‘Player Of The Year’ Award, Kyle Walker Snags Junior Trinket (Photos)

Chris Wright

23rd, April 2012


By Chris Wright

Surprising literally no-one and defying precisely none of the odds, Arsenal striker Robin van Persie was bestowed with the PFA Player of the Year award (as voted for by his fellow pros) at a ceremony at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London yesterday evening.

Said RVP:

“If other people are saying it, it is special, but it is even more special if your opponents are saying it. If they make up their minds that I’m the best player it is a big honour.”

Despite the world and his dog already knowing about it due to a leak, Tottenham’s half-man, half-whippet right-back Kyle Walker was handed the Young Player of the Year award, while wizened Preston stalwart Graham Alexander was given the PFA Merit Award to honour his 21 years of dedicated service to the game…

Cue the ‘that’s only silverware Arsenal/Spurs will be winning this season’ quips in 3…2…1…

The PFA also got round to naming their ‘teams of the year’ for the Premier League, Championship and League’s One and Two respectively – and they looked a little something like this:

Premier League Team of the Year: Joe Hart (Man City), Kyle Walker (Tottenham), Vincent Kompany (Man City), Fabricio Coloccini (Newcastle), Leighton Baines (Everton), David Silva (Man City), Yaya Toure (Man City), Gareth Bale (Tottenham), Scott Parker (Tottenham), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Wayne Rooney (Man Utd).

Championship team: Kelvin Davis (Southampton), Nathaniel Clyne (Crystal Palace), James Tomkins (West Ham), Curtis Davies (Birmingham), Ian Harte (Reading), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff), Mark Noble (West Ham), Matt Phillips (Blackpool), Rickie Lambert (Southampton), Jay Rodriguez (Burnley).

League One team: Ben Hamer (Charlton), Jack Hunt (Huddersfield), Michael Morrison (Charlton), Harry Maguire (Sheff Utd), Rhoys Wiggins (Charlton), Johnnie Jackson (Charlton), Stephen Quinn (Sheff Utd), Stephen Gleeson (MK Dons), Darren Potter (MK Dons), Jordan Rhodes (Huddersfield), Ched Evans (Sheff Utd).

League Two team: Robert Olejnik (Torquay), Paul Caddis (Swindon), Kyle McFadzean (Crawley), Ian Sharps (Shrewsbury), Kevin Nicholson (Torquay), Matt Ritchie (Swindon), Marlon Pack (Cheltenham), Eunan O’Kane (Torquay), Lee Mansell (Torquay), Izale McLeod (Barnet), Tyrone Barnett (Crawley).

Joel Lynch was robbed.

(Photos: PA)

Posted in Arsenal, Photos, Tottenham Hotspur

Share this article: Email


  1. derekcantona says:

    it’ll be interesting that if Man U win the league and only 1 of their players in that side, with Man C having 4 players and Spurs with 3. Goes to show what a job ferguson is doing with a decent team rather than an exceptional one…

  2. Degs says:

    Kyle Walker is decent enough, but YPOTY? Really?

  3. Paul says:


  4. Micheal says:

    Hi FA, Can you please explain the criteria of selecting the winners;

    1) Why are the nominations/awards always given before the end of the season
    2) why not have a another category for British Player of the year ( so that you can always lend one award to British players)
    3) In the current season, What If Wayne Rooney scores equal numbers of goals ( 2 more or less ) and ends up the a trophy.. does RVP still deserves an award…?????????????
    4 ) Last year, Bale was given the award for no reason..what did Bale achieve for himself or for his team? Spurs were 5th and didn’t even qualify for Champions league; Nani had more assists and goals scored plus he was premier league medal winner and champions league finalist.. He was not even nominated in senior category and poor guy was not even given the young player of the year award..
    5) Same applied to Giggs as well.. why was he given the award in 2010, when Chelsea won the premier league and other players deserved the award ????
    6) The list is never ending……

  5. Markell says:

    El Kun was robbed. I mean, seriously?

  6. Chris says:

    How is Dempsey not in the team of the year? If he was a Spurs player he would have been ! #FIX

  7. 22 says:

    How the fuck is Bale in the team of the year? I can think of about 10 other players that were better than him this season

  8. Jay says:

    @Michael I’d say regardless of Rooney’s goal tally at the end of the season van Persie still deserves the award based on the value of his goals to Arsenal this season.

    It was featured on Pies the premier league table standings minus the goals of clubs’ top scorers and Asenal were nowhere near where they are now minus RvP’s goals.

    And in fairness I’d say van Persie deserves it on that volley against Everton alone.

  9. Tom says:

    Fun fact, Juan Mata and Sergio Aguero are both eligible for the young player of the year awards…. Kyle Walker my arse

  10. Benji says:

    Leave Joel out of this Chris, that boy’s gonna fill Wes’ boots

  11. David Allison says:

    @Michael: No good asking the FA to clear up your questions; the awards are organised by the PFA and nothing to do with the FA. Same goes for everyone asking about the Teams of the Year, these have been chosen by fellow professionals – y’know, the players who have been facing each other for 38 league games of the season.

    Great to see Captain Colo in there. Newcastle have had some great performers this season, but it’s all been under the superb stewardship of the club captain. Well done, sir.

  12. KingEric7 says:

    This is a great day for Arsenal fans, it should bump his price up quite nicely when he goes off to Spain this summer.

  13. QMario says:

    Hmmm, Ched Evans in the League 2 team…

  14. Jamie says:

    I saw an article that said if you took out Van Persie’s goals, Arsenal would be 17th. I’d say that’s deserving of this reward regardless of whether Rooney gets more goals.

  15. gibberish says:

    Can’t believe Dempsey got no mention. Good to know the anti american bias is alive and well.

  16. Squillaci says:

    Michael, your love for united is erect for all to see. please keep it down :)

Leave a Reply