cool hit counter

Who ate all the pies

Dip in to scour the latest Deadline Day titbits...

Who Ate All The Pies Logo

Replays Show Lionel Messi Has Potential Liga-Winning Goal Wrongly Disallowed vs Atletico Madrid (Video)

By Chris Wright

Spain Soccer La Liga

Barcelona waved ‘ta ta’ to both the La Liga title and to coach Tata Martino yesterday after a 1-1 draw at the Camp Nou saw the 447 travelling Atletico fans witness their side win their first league championship since 1996.

Alexis Sanchez put Barca ahead with a cracking driveĀ from an acute angle, with Diego Godin squaring things up shortly after half-time with a headed equaliser – with things remaining thus until the final whistle, ensuring Atleti won the league by a two-point margin…

However, midway through the second half Lionel Messi had a goal ruled out for offside, with replays showing that the ball had rebounded into his path off the leg of Atletico defender Juanfran…

Now, we’re not for one moment suggesting that the officials dropped a clanger here – it’s bloody difficult to spot, especially given they have one go at it – but still, that’s got to sting a little, no?

Oh well, well played Atletico Madrid! Worthy winners!

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Buzz This
Vote on DZone
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Kick It on DotNetKicks.com
Shout it
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)
By Chris on May 18th, 2014 in Barcelona, La Liga, Newsnow, Videos. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.
comments

13 Responses to “Replays Show Lionel Messi Has Potential Liga-Winning Goal Wrongly Disallowed vs Atletico Madrid (Video)”

  1. Anonymous says:

    I think technology must be introduce to avoid mistakes.

    • Anonymous says:

      In some circumstances such as goal line technology, I agree. However, do we want a game which every single decision gets reviewed and the game becomes so stop start that it takes twice as long to get through a match. If it starts going down that road where does it end? Refs reviewing every foul, thow in ect?

      Personally I think deep down we love the drama and debate that comes with the human element of refereeing. The outrage of errors, the cries of injustice. Isn’t it one of the things that makes it exciting?

      Technology needs to assist a referee but it shouldn’t lead to a game that replaces them

    • Anon says:

      In some circumstances such as goal line technology, I agree. However, do we want a game which every single decision gets reviewed and the game becomes so stop start that it takes twice as long to get through a match. If it starts going down that road where does it end? Refs reviewing every foul, thow in ect?

      Personally I think deep down we love the drama and debate that comes with the human element of refereeing. The outrage of errors, the cries of injustice. Isn’t it one of the things that makes it exciting?

      Technology needs to assist a referee but it shouldn’t lead to a game that replaces them

  2. Anonymous says:

    It is still offside. Even if the ball hits an opponent they have to exert a level of control on the ball for it to be offside. For example a backpass. The ball just hitting the defender doesn’t count.

  3. Mark says:

    Offside is the correct decision. The ball deflecting off an opponent come under gaining an unfair advantage clause of the law.

  4. Alex says:

    They can’t hang the entire campaign one one mistake going against them, you have to be good enough All year and they weren’t, well done Atleti

  5. Mark says:

    Messi was offside. A deflection off a defender is covered under the unfair advantage clause in the law.

  6. usrick says:

    The call was incorrect, but not for the reason suggested. Had Messi been in an offside position when the cross was played – which he wasn’t – he would have been correctly ruled offside when the ball was deflected to him by Juanfran. It seems more likely, however, that the referee and the assistant thought the ball was directed to Messi after the cross by his teammate rather than by Juanfran. Still, as suggested, a difficult, split-second decision.

  7. Cajark says:

    Read the Law 11 of FIFA football rules. It should have been awarded.

  8. dave says:

    the irony of Barca losing on a borderline referee decision is rich.

  9. victor says:

    An incredible goal by Messi. -What an injustice to the game with the end result decided by a poor ref decision in desperate need of better camera support.

  10. Dave M says:

    According to the rules, offside position is evaluated when the ball is touched by a teammate. In this case, that’s when the ball was crossed in, and Messi and Fabregas were both onside at that point. The fact that it hit Juanfran is significant, because offside position is NOT re-evaluated for a touch by a defender. (If it had been Fabregas, it WOULD have been reevaluated.) So Messi remained onside, and should have been credited with the goal.

    Oh well.

Leave a Reply