cool hit counter

Who ate all the pies

Dip in to scour the latest Deadline Day titbits...

Who Ate All The Pies Logo

Player-Cam Footage Of Arjen Robben Before, During And After Diving To Con Holland’s Penalty Against Mexico (Video)

By Chris Wright

Soccer - FIFA World Cup 2014 - Round of 16 - The Netherlands v Mexico - Arena Castelao

In which we are treated to some unbroadcast player-cam footage of Arjen Robben before, during and after the Dutch winger hurled himself to the ground in order to milk a last-minute penalty for Holland against Mexico.

As the footage shows, Robben first walks off after winning the penalty, noticeably unwilling to make eye contact with anybody while he goes looking for a ball…

According to a translation by Dutch website NOS, Dirk Kuyt then walks over and says: “You take it, you can be top scorer”.

Robben then offers it to Klaas-Jan Huntelaar, asking: “You want it?”

While Huntelaar is busy preparing to dispatch the penalty off-screen, Rafael Marquez wanders over to Robben and appears to make a “dive” gesture, which is shrugged off by the Dutchman.

How very fascinating!

(Video: NOS)

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Buzz This
Vote on DZone
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Kick It on DotNetKicks.com
Shout it
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)
By Chris on July 1st, 2014 in Featured, Newsnow, Videos, World Cup. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.
comments

9 Responses to “Player-Cam Footage Of Arjen Robben Before, During And After Diving To Con Holland’s Penalty Against Mexico (Video)”

  1. Peter says:

    Really annoying Chris. Accusing him of diving to win the penalty, your opinion is that he dived. Most people disagree with you. Marquez clearly (to me) stepped on his foot, he fell theatrically but it was a foul. You could be less biased, at least in your article titles as there is still debate about whether he dived.

  2. MJ says:

    i’m all with gary neville here: penalty? – yes! dive? – yes!

  3. stoffel says:

    @Peter You must be the only person debating this. He dived. I can only guess that you’ve never watched Robben before and you also haven’t watched the replays. Good wind-up though mate, keep trying.

  4. Swiss Mafia says:

    Haha there is clearly contact in the action. Anyone denying it needs to look at the replay again. Or swallow a reality pill. I hate Robben and his dives, but I have to agree with MJ. Penalty? yes. Dive? Yes. Robben is clearly being judged by his previous dives, including the ones in the very same match. Which I understand doesnt help. Its all about the boy who cried wolf. But anyone saying there is no contact or no foul needs to take a good look at themselves as well as their prejudice comments about this particular incident. I would love to be in the same room as the people denying its a foul. I could just pinpoint the frame in which there is clear contact. And I am not just talking about “contact” but an infringement on robben.. Would love to hear what they would have to say about the clear cut contact..

  5. Swiss Mafia says:

    @ Stoffel
    What world are you living in? The debate is sparked all over the world! Also your comment about watching Robben before… That is the exact example in my previous comment. You are just prejudice cause you already assume something about Robben. If a player dives a lot does that mean he can never be fouled?… Please think before posting nonsense.

  6. Shawn says:

    Good school for our kids!..

    How to cheat! Where is te fair play?
    Robben dives have happened again and again without being punished for that, but this time he wasn’t counting on social medias power, now the whole world is laughing about him and knowing what kind of cheater he is!..
    Where is the fair play?
    He should be ashamed of what he did, and he said he is honest, bulshit!…

  7. BruceNoseFootie says:

    Anyone have a link that works. In the the US and can’t get the video

  8. Joe says:

    He definitely exaggarates contact, but there most definitely is enough contact for a penalty. Want proof? Check this: 9gag(dot)com/gag/aLKxn8A?ref=noti (replace (dot) with .)

    Also, this referee was too blind to spot the obvious fouls that should have led to two penalties and a free kick on the edge of the box in the first half, so I can’t really blame Robben for hamming it up.

Leave a Reply