Vampire Of Serie B: Avellino Striker Bites Opponent During Coppa Italia Game, Victim Sent Off For Protesting! (Video)

Chris Wright

25th, August 2014

1 Comment

By Chris Wright

Sunday’s Coppa Italia fixture between Serie B twosome Avellino and Bari was marred by yet another biting incident which saw Avellino striker Gianmario Comi allegedly sink his gnashers into the arm of Bari forward Giuseppe de Luca while the pair scuffled while lining up a defensive wall.

It’s admittedly difficult to pick anything out from the grainy footage available, but what is clear is De Luca’s furious reaction after scuffling on the floor with Comi – a furious reaction that actually saw him sent off by the referee for dissent!

Sod’s Law being what it is, Comi then went on to score the equaliser as Avellino emerged as 2-1 winners.

Still livid at the injustice of it all, Bari then used their official website to post photos of De Luca’s wounds after the game, with the images appearing to show red bite-marks on his elbow…

de-luca-arm

Nom nom nom.

De Luca himself told the club site:

“I had the wrong reaction and I apologize to the club, my teammates and the fans for leaving the team with ten – but I never expected to receive a bite from an opponent.

“Aggression is part of the sport, but vile episodes such as biting or spitting should not be tolerated.

“I ​​regret that on the pitch I overreacted and I was wrong.

“A player of my experience should not fall into traps like this, but I was surprised by the gesture of Comi.”

We can’t help wondering: Are Italian footballers particularly tasty or something?

Posted in Injuries, Newsnow, Videos

Share this article: Email

1 Comment

  1. richard_from_belfast@hotmail.com' Jarren says:

    Yeah, the footage appears to see de Luca react violently to what appears to be a movement of Comi’s face towards his arm.

    It’s a very fast incident.

    Good luck to the officials who will have to pass judgement if this is all the evidence they have.

    I know we can see de Luca’s arm as evidence afterwards, but that in itself is not proof.

    Very sticky situation.

Leave a Reply