Burnley: Ashley Barnes Sees Premature ‘Boat-Rowing’ Goal Celebration Spoiled By Referee (Video)

Alan Duffy

30th, April 2017

Burnley secured their first away win of the season, with Ashley Barnes and Andre Gray scoring in the 2-0 victory.

Barnes thought he had bagged a brace, only for his effort to be chalked off (correctly) for handball, albeit after the Burnley man had instigated a classic, yet premature, goal celebration.

Austrian striker Barnes put Sean Dyche’s side 1-0 up on seven minutes, firing through Wayne Hennessey’s legs.

Barnes then had a second effort ruled out for handball, but only after the Burnley man and teammate George Boyd performed a silly ‘Row row row your boat’ goal celebration.

Look at poor old Barnes’ face. What a spoilsport ref Robert Madley is!

Palace had a great chance to equalise when Zaha ran through on goal only to be felled by ‘keeper Tom Heaton. However, the winger was wrongly ruled offside which infuriated Eagles’ boss Sam Allardyce.

Hosts Crystal Palace were poor throughout but improved in the second period. However, it was Burnley who would score again late on, via sub Andre Gray after a lovely through-ball from Boyd.

The rare away victory sees Burnley leapfrog Palace and go 14th, eight points clear of danger.

As for Allardyce and co, they stay seven points clear of the drop-zone in 16th spot.

You have already read 4 premium articles for free today
Access immediately the premium content with Multipass

Or come back tomorrow

Posted in Burnley, Crystal Palace, Videos

Share this article: Email

Leave a Reply