Not that the rule exists in Germany, but if there’s any justice then Bayer Leverkusen’s Heiko Herrlich will be the first coach to be retrospectively charged with wilful deception of a match official after taking a tumble in laughable technical area during Wednesday evening’s DFB Pokal game against Borussia Monchengladbach.
The tomfoolery unfolded when Gladbach midfielder Denis Zakaria entered Herrlich’s general vicinity to pick up a loose ball, only for the Leverkusen boss to exaggerate contact and hit the deck…
Leverkusen went on to win the match 1-0 (the goal came before the dive) though Herrlich cut a repentant figure after the final whistle.
That was stupid. I’d like to apologise.
You said it, Heiko!