Bayer Leverkusen Coach Heiko Herrlich Should Be Retrospectively Charged With Diving After Taking Ridiculous Tumble In Technical Area (Video)

Chris Wright

21st, December 2017

1 Comment

Embed from Getty Images

Not that the rule exists in Germany, but if there’s any justice then Bayer Leverkusen’s Heiko Herrlich will be the first coach to be retrospectively charged with wilful deception of a match official after taking a tumble in laughable technical area during Wednesday evening’s DFB Pokal game against Borussia Monchengladbach.

The tomfoolery unfolded when Gladbach midfielder Denis Zakaria entered Herrlich’s general vicinity to pick up a loose ball, only for the Leverkusen boss to exaggerate contact and hit the deck…

Leverkusen went on to win the match 1-0 (the goal came before the dive) though Herrlich cut a repentant figure after the final whistle.

That was stupid. I’d like to apologise.

You said it, Heiko!