Video: South Korean Woman Catches The Ball, Pays Penalty

Ollie Irish

30th, July 2010


By Ollie Irish

Germany v South Korea, in the Women’s Under-20 World Cup: Despite the poor video quality, I think it’s safe to say this is a blatant handball in the box and therefore a penalty. So, a good decision by the ref – in the end. Germany won 5-1, btw.

In terms of not knowing the rules (or maybe the Korean defender thought the ball had somehow gone out of play?), this is up there with the infamous Zaire-Brazil free-kick:

Posted in FAIL, Videos

Share this article: Email


  1. Montesquieu says:

    I’m pretty certain she thought it had gone out.

    As for Zaire, they had refused to ‘care’ since there had been some stupid payment problems at the time of the World Cup.

  2. dtduffy says:

    The Zaire situation was not about how much they cared or understood. The players were being threatened by Mobutu Sese Seko, their bonus money was being stolen by Mobutu’s guards and they and their families were threatened with violence if they lost to brazil by more than 3 goals. Under that kind of pressure, anyone would react rashly and do whatever they could to prevent the fourth goal.

Leave a Reply