Gonzalo Bazan Sees Peachy ‘Ghost Goal’ Ruled Out Because Referee Wasn’t Looking (Video)

Chris Wright

7th, June 2011

1 Comment

By Chris Wright

This past Saturday saw Independiente Rivadavia play host to Patronato in Argentina’s second tier, with the former eventually running out as comfortable 3-0 winners – no thanks to the hapless officials, who chalked off Independiente midfielder Gonzalo Bazan’s spectacular long-range effort, presumably as the ball clearly hadn’t crossed the goal-line when it hit the back of the net…

Said ref Luis Alvarez:

“We did not give the goal because we did not see it. We are not allowed to talk further.”

Classic. You’ve got to wonder what Alvarez thought did happen once the ball careened back off the bar and into the keeper who was standing less than ten centimetres off his line.

I can almost hear Sepp Blatter laughing maniacally from deep within the catacombs of his evil Swiss lair while he sits with his hand down the front of his slacks, watching endless replays of Frank Lampard’s ghost goal against Germany last summer.

“Those desperate little piggies all want goal-line technology, but I’ll never give it to them…NEVER!”

Video: Off The Post

You have already read 10 premium articles for free today
Access immediately the premium content with Multipass

Or come back tomorrow

Posted in FAIL, Videos

Share this article: Email

1 Comment

  1. :) says:

    this happened to freddie sears while on loan to crystal palace!

Leave a Reply