Dnipro’s Samuel Inkoom Shown Red Card For Taking His Shirt Off…While Being Substituted (Video)

Chris Wright

2nd, November 2011

11 Comments

By Chris Wright

We started the day with a referee showing amicable discretion in not applying the letter of the law and booking Billy Sharp for revealing a t-shirt in exceptional, emotionally-charged circumstances and while I’m a little uneasy about drawing parallels with a man losing his newborn child, this truly is the other end of the scale.

Here we see Dnipro’s Samuel Inkoom picking up a second yellow for removing his shirt in the process of running to the sidelines after seeing his number come up on the fourth official’s board against Karpaty in Ukraine last night.

That’s right, Inkoom was actually sent off before he could be subbed off…

http://youtu.be/EaN51Yk42dk

There are no words.

Video: 101GG

You have already read 4 premium articles for free today
Access immediately the premium content with Multipass

Or come back tomorrow

Posted in FAIL, Videos

Share this article: Email

11 Comments

  1. murry1975 says:

    Chris , he ONLY started to run AFTER taking his jersey off .You can hear the ref blow his whistle as soon as he takes it off about the same time his walk turns to a jog , maybe he heard it too .

  2. Australien says:

    Ummmmm… WHAT?! I kinda expected to be bit more of a reaction, than just a shrug of shoulders.

  3. Sultan says:

    WTF ?? !!! Epic Fail !!

  4. Mr. Sparkle says:

    That’s hilarious, serves him right.

  5. Jay says:

    @murry1975: Inkoom was probably jogging after he heard the whistle as he thought the ref was whisling for him to hurry up off the field to speed the substitution up….NOT because of a shirt be taken off which had NO writing underneath and was not done in celebration which could incite a crowd.

    Baffling how the ref gave a 2nd yellow there. Even the team players in Green were a bit miffed and seem to look to be gesturing to the ref, that he’s just getting subbed…..

    @Mr. Sparkle: Lolol…..for a minute, I thought you were being serious there!haha

  6. Here we go again says:

    Priceless… That ref is probably the most retarded person I have never met.

  7. Jay says:

    Actually, are there any Ukraining lip readers who can see if the players in green and white were trying to remind the ref that it was a 2nd yellow?

  8. Jay says:

    *Ukranian…….my word, my spelling is atrocious. Result of typing too quickly :/ My apologies.

  9. Thing is, removing your shirt isn’t a yellow card offence. Removing your shirt _while celebrating a goal_ is a caution. (Ref should spend a few minutes getting familiar with ‘You are the Ref’)

  10. Kathies says:

    That card wasn’t for taking the shirt off, it was for spitting. Even children know that spitting on the ground is a highly rude act.

  11. hachel says:

    I suppose they give you a yellow for taking of your shirt in whatever situation during which you are normally in a camera closeup (like goal celebration or being subbed), because those are the moments shirt-sponsors will have their name featured especially prominently.

Leave a Reply