By Chris Wright
It’s taken them a while to get there (a “longer time than desirable” as far as Kick It Out are concerned) but the FA have finally brought charges against West Brom striker Nicolas Anelka for his controversial ‘quenelle’ goal celebration against West Ham back on December 28th.
In a statement, the FA have confirmed that Anelka has been charged with making a gesture that was “abusive and/or indecent and/or insulting and/or improper”, adding that the quenelle was ”an aggravated breach [of FA rules] in that it included a reference to ethnic origin and/or race and/or religion or belief”.
The minimum suspension if Anelka is found guilty of the offence is five games, but the FA – along with their specially-appointed ‘expert’, who assisted in the investigation into the incident – are free to up the punishment if they deem it appropriate to do so.
West Brom have released a brief statement saying that Anelka is currently “considering his options” and has until 6pm on Thursday to respond/appeal, etc.
The Baggies also added that the French forward will remain available for selection until the FA’s disciplinary process reaches its conclusion.