Football Vine: Nani Expertly Plays In The Referee After Mistaking Official For One Of His Teammates

Chris Wright

1st, October 2014


By Chris Wright

There is a misguided school of thought suggesting Nani is steadily getting back on his feet and arresting his downward career trajectory at Sporting Lisbon having scored a couple of goals since returning to his former club on loan from Manchester United.

However, we feel it’s our bubble-bursting duty to tell you that he’s actually been precisely the same old frustrating mix of nano-seconds of inspiration amid a stagnant, fetid pool of weak garbage juice.

Take this passage from last night’s Champions League tie between Sporting and Chelsea for example: Nani, upon hearing the gentle pitter-patter of footsteps in the corner of his ear (to coin a phrase), dispatches a delicious little back-heeled through-ball to play in…the referee...after mistaking the galloping official for an overlapping teammate.

Cue baffled looks from all involved…

He’s 27. This is it. This is all you’re getting.