England World Cup Squad Given Shirt Numbers – David James No.1, Peter Crouch No.9, Joe Cole No.11

Ollie Irish

3rd, June 2010

1 Comment

By Ollie Irish

England’s players now know which shirt number they have for South Africa 2010:

1 David James; 2 Glen Johnson; 3 Ashley Cole; 4 Steven Gerrard; 5 Rio Ferdinand; 6 John Terry; 7 Aaron Lennon; 8 Frank Lampard; 9 Peter Crouch; 10 Wayne Rooney; 11 Joe Cole; 12 Robert Green; 13 Stephen Warnock; 14 Gareth Barry; 15 Matthew Upson; 16 James Milner; 17Shaun Wright-Phillips; 18 Jamie Carragher; 19 Jermain Defoe; 20Ledley King; 21 Emile Heskey; 22 Michael Carrick; 23 Joe Hart.


Well, past form suggests David James is Capello’s first-choice No.1, whilst the No.9 jersey given to Peter Crouch hints strongly that Crouchinho is above Emile Heskey and Jermain Defoe in the forwards’ pecking order.

Indeed, if you look at the 1-11 shirts, that would seem very close to the starting XI Capello might go for against the States.

Posted in International football, World Cup

Share this article: Email

1 Comment

  1. the cannon says:

    taking shaun wright phillips over theo walcott is a fucking moronic decision

Leave a Reply