Bust: As Portsmouth Mark Unhappy Anniversary, Another 26 English Football Clubs That Went Into Administration

Martin Cloake

26th, February 2016



Portsmouth earned the unwelcome distinction of becoming the first English Premier League club to go into administration when, on 26th February 2010, debts of £70million took the famous old side under.

Since the turn of the millennium, a total of 27 sides from the professional divisions of English football have gone into administration.

They are as follows (in chronological order)…

Hull City (2001)
QPR (2001)
Halifax Town (2002 and 2008)
Bradford City (2002 and 2004)
Notts County (2002)
Barnsley (2002)
Leicester City (2002)
Port Vale (2002 and 2012)
York City (2002)
Derby County (2003)
Ipswich Town (2003)
Wimbledon (2003)
Darlington (2003 and 2009)
Wrexham (2004)
Cambridge United (2005)
Rotherham United (2006 and 2008)
Boston United (2007)
Leeds United (2007)
Luton Town (2007)
Bournemouth (2008)
Southampton (2009)
Stockport County (2009)
Crystal Palace (2010)
Portsmouth (2010)
Plymouth Argyle (2011)
Coventry City (2013)
Aldershot Town (2013)

Something tells us we won’t have to wait around too long for number 28.

You can follow Martin Cloake on Twitter at @MartinCloake and find more about his books and writing at www.martincloake.com

Posted in Newsnow, Portsmouth, Top 10s & lists

Share this article: Email


  1. Fnarf says:

    The fact that the team currently at the top of the Premier League table is one of these teams in administration suggests there’s a way out in the end. Good for them.

  2. P says:

    Surprised to see 4 current EPL teams on the list., 4 teams set to stay up as well. Still can’t believe Pompey’s fall into – and continued stay in – the fourth tier, less than 8 years after winning the FA Cup no less.

Leave a Reply