Hard To Disagree: No Less Than Five Man City Players Get The Nod As PFA Name 2017/18 Team Of The Year (Photo)

Chris Wright

18th, April 2018


Image: @PFA/Twitter

There is it. The PFA Team of the Year for 2018, brought to us in conjunction with Panini stickers.

Quite honestly, it’s difficult to pick fault with any of the selections, though the crowbarring of players into a contrived formation still baffles us. Why not just pick the 11 best players, regardless of position? Especially as it usually means defensive midfielders tend to miss out.

Here it is again, this time in text form…

GK | David De Gea
RB | Kyle Walker
CB | Jan Vertonghen
CB | Nicolas Otamendi
LB | Marcos Alonso
MID | David Silva
MID | Kevin De Bruyne
MID | Christian Eriksen
FWD | Harry Kane
FWD | Mohamed Salah
FWD | Sergio Aguero

This also marks the very first time has ever Sergio Aguero has been named in a PFA Team of the Year, despite him scoring 143 goals in the space of 206 appearances.

Just one of the those quirks that was probably overdue an addressing, even if Aguero hasn’t exactly had a proper ‘vintage’ campaign by his previous standards.

That said, maybe Leroy Sane was more deserving?

Posted in Premier League

Share this article: Email


  1. nn4 says:

    Aguero and Cavani have been the most consistent strikers in the past 5-8 years. Cavani gets his props because his record speaks for itself, but Aguero, for some reason, doesn’t earn the praise he deserves. Great scoring record in a tougher league than Ligue 1, and arguably a better footballer overall. He should go down as a modern Prem great.

    • Chris Wright says:

      @nn4: Aguero is light years ahead of Cavani in terms of actual honest-to-goodness finishing. Light. Years.

      • Pol says:

        When you consider Agueros performances for the last five years he has been both excellent and consistent. Works hard and scores goals. When fit, I would pick hhim over any other striker in the World.

Leave a Reply to Pol