Caught With His Pants Down: Aston Villa’s Nicklas Helenius Debriefed By Tottenham’s Jan Vertonghen (Video)

Alan Duffy

24th, September 2013

By Alan Duffy

While we can see the funny side of this bizarre moment from Spurs’ 4-0 drubbling of Villa on Tuesday night, Villans’ boss Paul Lambert was less than impressed.

When beanpole striker Nicklas Helenius got in front of Jan Vertonghen in the Lilywhites’ box, the Belgian defender proceeded to pull down the striker’s pants, stopping him from continuing his run. But bizarrely, ref Jon Moss didn’t blow for a penalty. With the score at just 1-0 to Tottenham at the time, a spot-kick could’ve changed the game. But also, nowt was given.

Maybe there’s a special rule in the officials’ handbook, where pulling down an opponents’ shorts is exempt from punishment. Odd, but rather amusing.

Video: 101gg