N’Golo Kante Crowned PFA Player Of The Year, Dele Alli Picks Up Junior Award For Second Year Running (Photos)

Chris Wright

24th, April 2017



Photo: PFA

N’Golo Kante pipped Eden Hazard, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Romelu Lukaku, Alexis Sanchez and Harry Kane to be crowned 2016/17 PFA Player of the Year on Sunday evening.

On course to win two successive Premier League titles in two successive seasons with two different clubs, Kante was typically humble upon receiving his award.

It’s a huge honour to be chosen by the other players. It’s the biggest honour to get this award.

It means the world to be ­chosen by the players to be Player of the Year.

My first two seasons were very beautiful. Last season was very beautiful.

This season so far, we have had a good season but we have to finish well.

The Young Player of the Year trophy went to Dele Alli for the second season running, with the Tottenham talisman fending off competition from Kane, Lukaku, Michael Keane, Leroy Sane and Jordan Pickford.

Under current qualification rules, Alli will actually be eligible to win the PFA’s ‘Young Player’ award until the 2019/20, so there’s a very real possibility he may end up winning five on the bounce.

Elsewhere, Man City’s Lucy Bronze won the Women’s Player of the Year award (also for the second time) while Birmingham’s Jess Carter was named Women’s Young Player of the Year.

Posted in Chelsea, Newsnow, Premier League, Tottenham Hotspur

Share this article: Email


  1. Pablo says:

    God, Kante is ugly. Argh.
    Can Ibrahimovic win the Young player award? Dele Ali will be 37 in five years.

  2. Nuno says:

    Ok, let me see if I understand: so Lukaku and Kane were considered two of the 6 best players in the whole league, and also included in the youth. But lost in the youth category to a player that was not in the overall league top6? Yeah, separate votes and all, but still…

Leave a Reply