Europa League Draw: Tottenham Stuck With Anzhi, Swansea Get Valencia And Wigan Face Long Trip To Rubin Kazan

Chris Wright

30th, August 2013


By Chris Wright


The yawning, grotesquely over-inclusive draw (there’s a “Group L” for crying out loud!) for the 2013/14 Europa League group stages has finally finished taking place in the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco and the plastic balls of destiny have worked their magic; landing Tottenham in a group with Anzhi, Swansea with Valencia and FA Cup winners Wigan with Russian side Rubin Kazan.

We can only imagine how many fans that Latics are going to take with them to the Republic of Tatarstan as and when the time comes.

The massive Europa League Group Stage draw in full…

Group A: Valencia, Swansea, Kuban Krasnodar, St Gallen

Group B: PSV, Dinamo Zagreb, Chornomorets, Ludogorets

Group C: Standard Liege, Red Bull Salzburg, IF Elfsborg, Esbjerg

Group D: Rubin Kazan, Wigan, Maribor, Zulte Waregem

Group E: Fiorentina, Dnipro, Pacos Ferreira, Pandurii Targu Jiu

Group F: Bordeaux, Apoel Nicosia, Eintracht Frankfurt, Maccabi Tel-Aviv

Group G: Dynamo Kiev, Genk, Rapid Vienna, FC Thun

Group H: Sevilla, Freiburg, Estoril Praia, Liberec

Group I: Lyon, Real Betis, Guimaraes, Rijeka

Group J: Lazio, Trabzonspor, Legia Warsaw, Apollon Limassol

Group K: Tottenham, Anzhi, FC Sheriff, Tromso

Group L: AZ, PAOK Salonika, Maccabi Haifa, Shakhter Karagandy

Did you know that Shakhter Karagandy are based further east than Mumbai, India? True fact!

Anyway, don’t know about you lot, but Pies are firmly rooting for Pandurii Targu Jiu this year.