Danish Superliga: FC Midtjylland Goalkeeper Sees Goal-Kick Blown Back By Wind, Gets Penalised For Catching Ball (Video)

Alan Duffy

20th, November 2016


While storms were battering the south coast of England this weekend, the wind was playing havoc during the Danish Superliga clash between SønderjyskE and FC Midtjylland.


Midway through the second-half of the clash, Midtjylland ‘keeper Johan Dahlin saw his goal-kick blown back into his own arms by a strong breeze, only to be penalised by the referee.

The incident came at SønderjyskE’s Sydbank Park stadium, with the scores at 0-0. With the wind swirling around the ground, Dahlin’s high goal-kick was blown back into his own box, with the ‘keeper catching the ball after a single bounce. However, as it was technically an infraction, the ref blew for a free to the hosts…

Seems a bit harsh to me!

Ultimately, Dahlin and his team-mates would lose the game 1-0, a result which sees them drop to fourth in the Superliga table. SønderjyskE, on the other hand, go sixth.

Posted in Videos

Share this article: Email


  1. Jeremia says:

    What is this type of infringement technically called? “Passing to yourself” or “footie knock-on” which I remember from my youthful days surely can’t be the actual name.

    • Bryan says:

      The infraction is called “double touch” or “second touch”. It is the same infraction as if the GK had kicked the ball lightly out of the penalty area, then was the first person to touch it. It’s akin to the rule for the kicker or thrower on kickoffs, free kicks, corner kicks, throw-ins, and penalty kicks.

Leave a Reply