Thailand: Bangkok Sports Club Emerge Victorious From Mammoth Penalty Shootout Thanks To Truly Bizarre Winning Spot-Kick (Video)

Chris Wright

23rd, October 2017


After this ‘ere Thai cup match between Bangkok Sports Club and Satri Angthong finished 2-2 after extra time, the two sides embarked upon an extended penalty shoot-out that eventually culminated in one of the silliest, flukiest spot-kicks you’re ever likely to see.

With the shoot-out dramatically poised at 19-19 and goalkeeper facing goalkeeper, the Bangkok Sports Club stopper sent his powerful effort clanging off the crossbar.

Unfortunately for Satri Angthong, their ‘keeper started celebrating a smidge too early as the ball returned from orbit and gradually began spinning back towards the goal-line…

As it happens, Satri duly missed their next penalty to send Bangkok through to the next round.

There’s an important lesson to be learned in there somewhere.

Posted in International football, Videos

Share this article: Email


  1. Jarren says:

    My favourite part is the linesman & referee!

    Just watch them. Such cool professionalism, like penguins.

  2. Tel says:

    I always thought, in a shootout, once forward movement of the ball stops, the kick is over? So this thould be disallowed?

    • Chris Wright says:

      @Tel: Could be wrong, but I think the kick continues to be considered “in motion” until the ball comes to a natural stop and/or crosses the dead-ball line.

      • James Taylor says:

        I think that used to be the case, but I believe they changed the rules not so long ago. A famous example is Bellone’s goal in the shoot-out against Brazil in the ’86 World Cup.

  3. Anonymous says:

    A kick is successful if, having been touched once by the kicker, the ball crosses the goal line between the goal posts and under the crossbar, without touching any player, official, or outside agent other than the defending goalkeeper. The ball may touch the goalkeeper, goal posts, or crossbar any number of times before going into the goal as long as the referee believes the ball’s motion is the result of the initial kick. This was clarified after an incident in the 1986 World Cup shoot-out between Brazil and France. Bruno Bellone’s kick rebounded out off the post, hit goalkeeper Carlos’s back, and subsequently bounced into the goal. Referee Ioan Igna gave the goal to France, and Brazil captain Edinho was booked for protesting that the kick should have been considered a miss as soon as it rebounded off the post. In 1987, the International Football Association Board clarified Law 14, covering penalty kicks, to support Igna’s decision

Leave a Reply to James Taylor