Goal Disallowed In Spanish Fourth Tier After Ball Goes Through Hole In Net (Video)

Alan Duffy

12th, October 2011


By Alan Duffy

Straight from the lower environs of Spanish football comes yet another argument for the introduction of goal-line technology, as well as for no holes in nets and referees with reasonable eyesight.

With the scores at 0-0 between Alondras and Pontevedra, Alondras’ Fran Fandino looped a header over the Pontevedra ‘keeper and into the back of the net. However, as the Alondras players reeled away to celebrate, the ball bounced through a hole in the net and into the stands behind.

Referee Garcia Parada apparently missed the goal and blew instread for a goal-kick. To add injury to insult to a perplexed Alondras side, Pontevedra then went on to score the winner in injury time.