No Place For Alvaro Negredo And Jesus Navas As Spain Name 23-Man World Cup Squad

Alan Duffy

31st, May 2014


By Alan Duffy


Spainsh boss Vincent Del Bosque has named his final 23-man squad for the World Cup with a few interesting omissions. Man City forwards Alvaro Negredo and Jesus Navas are both left out despite having helped the Citizens to the Premier League title this year. Fernando Torres also continues to find favour with Del Bosque despite another mediocre season with Chelsea.

Here’s the squad in full and it’s quite something!

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Pepe Reina (Napoli), David De Gea (Manchester United).

Defenders: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Raul Albiol (Napoli), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Juanfran (Atletico Madrid), Jordi Alba (Barcelona).

Midfielders: Xavi (Barcelona), Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Cesc Fabregas (Barcelona), Santi Cazorla (Arsenal), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Javi Martinez (Bayern Munich).

Forwards: David Silva (Manchester City), Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid), Fernando Torres (Chelsea), Pedro (Barcelona), Juan Mata (Manchester United), David Villa (Atletico Madrid).

Posted in Man City, Newsnow, Tottenham Hotspur, World Cup

Share this article: Email


  1. savage says:

    im surprised to see negredo and navas out of the squad, especially since they’re being replaced by an injured costa and a bland mediocre torres. i understand torres is their up front striker but he’s really done f**ck all for chelsea these past few seasons

  2. Ali says:

    I see del Bosque is trying to one up England by going with only 6 defenders.

  3. Miichael says:

    To be fair, you don’t need many defenders when you plan on keeping 99% of the possession

  4. Haywired says:

    Shocked that Negredo isn’t there.

  5. Straight Dave says:

    That midfield is ridiculous.

  6. Bruno says:

    So Silva and Mata are forwards? Negredo is shit.

  7. Taimoor says:

    I would love to see a “who didnt make it” Spanish 11

    navas, negredo, llorente, arteta, javi garcia, arbeloa, carvajal, inigo martinez, thiago….

Leave a Reply