Zambia’s Kennedy Mweene Makes First Hilarious Goalkeeping Error Of The African Nations (Video)

Chris Wright

23rd, January 2012


By Chris Wright

The African Cup of Nations saw it’s first (of many, if previous tournaments are anything to go by) ridiculous goalkeeping ricket during Zambia’s shock 2-1 win over Senegal last night – with Zambian ‘keeper Kennedy Mweene dropping a big hairy bollock at the end of the first half, playing fast and loose with the rules governing the size of his goal area when mopping up after a free-kick…

You’ve got to love the ACoN!

Posted in FAIL, Funnies, International football, Videos

Share this article: Email


  1. Tom Jones says:

    Did he get a yellow for the handball? If so he should have been given a second yellow for throwing the ball away and been endt off.

  2. Anonymous says:

    The look on his face after he realises he’s outside the box…priceless.

  3. Grant says:

    @Tom: You can’t do that. The referee can’t issue a second caution until he’s issued the first one, otherwise the player can’t correct his behavior accordingly. Unless he commits a straight red card offense, you can’t be sent off in that fashion.

  4. Wayne says:

    He was carded for throwing the ball away you knob not handling outside the area which is not a bookable offense for a goalie if unintentional

  5. dc says:

    i dont think its that big of an error at all. he knew he was close to the line but made sure he focused on catching the ball rather than looking down at his feet, and tried to stop himself. he was only 2 steps over anyway. i’d rather have a keeper do that than look down at his feet and fumble the ball or not catch it and be caught out. he should have just kicked it away but it was close enough to the box so in my opinion not a bad play if not for the yellow

  6. Eckpfosten says:

    Agree with dc. It was just a miscalculation of steps. Not that hilarious.

    Manuel Neuer made the real mistake at Friday. And he is a nation`s team keeper:

  7. Alex says:

    11 seconds in – “Oh not again…”

Leave a Reply