Copa Libertadores: Universidad De Chile ‘Keeper Johnny Herrera Scores Winning Goal With His First Ever Penalty Kick (Video)

Chris Wright

19th, March 2014


By Chris Wright

Universidad de Chile (of Chile, believe it or not) beat their Peruvian opponents Real Garcilaso by a single goal to nil in the Copa Libertadores last night, with their goalkeeper Johnny Herrera popping up to score the only goal of the night from the penalty spot to send his side to the top of their group.

Having garnered a spot-kick in the 63rd minute, Herrara stepped up to dispatch it despite, A) not being Universidad’s designated penalty taker, and, B) having never taken a penalty before in his life  and, lo and behold, stuck a sweetly-struck shot past his opposite number, Diego Carranza…

Even Rogerio Ceni had to start somewhere!

“We had to score and I accepted the responsibility,” Herrera told reporters after the game. It’s tough to argue.

As for the man himself, it seems our Johnny has a bit of a back story. It appears that last year the Chilean international stopper was found guilty of killing a 22-year-old woman while speeding.

The prosecution were asking for a three-year prison sentence, arguing that Herrera was driving under the influence, but the judge eventually ruled that he was free to go.

So…now you know.

(Via Eurosport)

You have already read 4 premium articles for free today
Access immediately the premium content with Multipass

Or come back tomorrow