Equatorial Guinea Defender Shows Blatant Disregard For ‘Handball Rule’, Goes Completely Unpunished (Video)

Chris Wright

4th, July 2011


By Chris Wright


Surely even those with the most liberal interpretation of the ‘ball to hand’ rule must admit that Equatorial Guinea Women defender Bruna probably should have conceded a penalty for her little brain-wobble against Austrailia?

Fortunately, especially for the referee’s sake, the Aussies eventually went on to win 3-2.

UPDATE: In typical fashion, FIFA are busy covering their self-serving derrieres today by stripping all footage of the major-league refereeing cock-up from Youtube etc.

If and when the video above is forcibly removed by Sepp and co. you should still be able to watch the incident here.

Posted in FAIL, Videos, World Cup

Share this article: Email


  1. Tom says:

    Wasn’t there a north Korean girl who did the same a while back too? Referee is more at fault than the defender in this clip, it was a mistake (albeit a huge and utterly retarded mistake) from the defender but entirely deliberate not to punish it from the ref.

  2. youdamneddirtyape says:

    i watched the game, and just knew this would end up here…

    is it the most blatant handball ever?

  3. Michael D says:

    I remember watching the game at the time and was baffled: I thought surely there was an offside or something where the ref had blown the whistle and she was merely picking it up, but I didn’t see anything so I just figured all the refs had turned their backs at the same time. Bizarre

Leave a Reply