Cheick Tiote Joins ‘Great Disallowed Goals Club’ After Thunderous Strike Chalked Off vs Man City (Video & GIF)

Chris Wright

12th, January 2014


By Chris Wright

Big, big, possibly wrong call at St James’ Park this afternoon, where referee decided to rob Newcastle skirmisher Cheick Tiote of his tri-annual super strike by chalking off the midfielder’s thunderous strike against Man City due to Yoan Gouffran being classed as interfering with play…

And again, in GIF format…


Shame to see such a glorious goal fall by the wayside. Everybody say thank-you to the needlessly labyrinthine offside law!

More great disallowed goals in the series…

#1: Daniel Pablo Osvaldo (Roma) vs Lecce
#2: Edinson Cavani (Napoli) vs Barcelona
#3: Thiago Silva (PSG) vs OGC Nice

#4: Yoann Gourcuff (Lyon) vs Real Betis

Posted in GIFs, Man City, Newcastle Utd, Videos

Share this article: Email


  1. Tim says:

    wow. what a shame and what a strike. tri-annual super strike- nice!

    • Joe says:

      That sounds logic right there Degs; he “must have been”. Shame that the real reason it was chalked off was because the linesman thought Gouffran actually had touched it, otherwise the goal would’ve stood, regardless of how close to the ball Goufran was. This bit of the whole ‘interference’ argument seems to have been lost. The fans & media seem to be overcomplicating the matter.

  2. Degs says:

    Not sure why it’s so controversial. The ball was so close to making contact with Gouffran that he must, for that very reason, have been interfering with play.
    Harsh on Tiote (because it was a superb strike), but it was technically correct to disallow it.

  3. Bobo says:

    I’m a city fan and that goal was great and should of counted

  4. toonarmytx says:

    Cheers Bobo. Should have stood. Cracking game either way. If that had stood this would have been a match for the ages as both squads were completely on top of their game.

  5. Jake says:

    That was wrong

  6. Michael says:

    i don’t understand why it was disallowed. The ref had a clear view of it, and Yoan Gouffron did not “interfere with play,” “interfere with the opponent” or “gain an advantage by being in that position.”

    If the ref didn’t have a good view of it, I would have understood the call.

Leave a Reply