Argentina: Contentious Referee Decision Robs Belgrano As Banfield Grab Ridiculous 95th Minute Equaliser (Video)

Chris Wright

23rd, October 2018


Embed from Getty Images

Over in the Argentinian Superliga, it looked for all the world like lowly Belgrano were on course to secure a much-needed victory over Banfield on Monday night as the game entered the final stages.

Leading 1-0 thanks to a Jonas Aguirre goal scored shortly before half-time, Belgrano managed to preserve their fragile lead right up until the 95th minute.

However, Banfield left it until the final dying seconds to peg their opponents back with an equaliser of the truly ludicrous variety.

Seeking to slow down the play and wind down the clock, Belgrano ‘keeper Cesar Rigamonti claimed a high ball into his area and then held onto it for a while as players from both teams milled around and slowly filtered back up the pitch.

However, referee Fernando Espinoza took umbrage with the amount of time Rigamonti held the ball without releasing it and awarded an indirect freekick.

Rigamonti obliged and handed the ball over to Banfield forward Dario Cvitanich, who took the freekick quickly by squaring it for teammate Julio Carranza, who trickled a shot into the completely vacant net…

Sure, Rigamonti held the ball for 19 seconds, but roughly 15 of them were spent with at least one Banfield player stood in close proximity. If you’re going to pull anybody up, surely a verbal warning would suffice in that situation?

It’s the old letter-of-the-law versus reasonable human discretion debate again.

However, it all boils down to bad, needlessly over-officious refereeing in Pies’ book.

Posted in South America, Videos

Share this article: Email


  1. John says:

    The only problem I see is the free kick being taken so quickly, but I give that to lack of experience from the keeper on giving the ball to the attacker so easily. The freekick seems absolutely right, I recall Mignolet also having a blunder like that a couple years ago.
    I quickly saw the goalie already had a yellow earlier in the game, so probably already had a warning against time wasting. And this was time wasting (there was only players nearby because he went to the middle of them, not like they were blocking him). So clearly seems time wasting from the GK to me, right call, should have had the free kick retaken as I don’t think he whistled it to be taken.

  2. Jules says:

    I bit like Chelsea x Man United, eh? Two substitutions = 7 minutes of added time.

Leave a Reply